Football presidents: towards a typology of political cultures

Data início: 15/09/2022Data de encerramento: 16/09/2022

Football presidents: towards a typology  of political cultures

Programm

September 15

08h Brasilia / 13h Brussels
Introduction by Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui and Jean-Michel De Waele

8h15 Brasilia / 13h15 Brussels
“Roundtable 1: Are Football Presidents Symbols of their Communities?”
President: Jean-Michel De Waele
– Enrico Castro Montes, “Presidents of Barcelona SC: Ecuador and Political disputes”
– Tommaso Begotti, “‘Il Mago di Campagna’. Paolo Mazza as president of SPAL (1947–1976)”
– João Sedas Nunes, Pinto da Costa, “A man of many means – football and society under Portugal’s democratic regime
– Robert Adam, “The Highway to Hell: The Downfall of Romanian football President”
– Mateo Peyrouzet García-Siñeriz, “How does a football-maniac scout from Spain end up as president of OM? The rise of Pablo Longoria”
– Benjamin Pelican, Nicolas Chanavat, Pascal Charroin, “Roger Rocher, football business pioneer in France”

9h45 Brasilia / 14h45 Brussels: Questions and discussions

10h15 Brasilia / 15h15 Brussels: Coffee Break

10h30 Brasilia / 15h30 Brussels
“Roundtable 2: Political Careers on Football: Language, Gender, Power”
President: Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui
– Carmen Rial, Caroline Rocha, “Women’s Football in contexts marked by prohibitions: the trajectory of football club’s presidents in Brazil and France in the 20th century”
– Kevin Marston, “A very strong lady … – a biographical sketch of Veronica Chan”
– Livia Magalhaes, “From La Bombonera to Casa Rosada: the political games of Maurício Macri”
– Jim O’Brien, “The Rise and Rise of Mauricio Macri: Football, Culture and Presidential Politics in Argentina; 1991–2019”
– Sergio Varela Hernández, “A team in poverty is a poor team: Politics, power, money and football according to Hank Rhon”
– Andrea Di Ruzza, Traian Sandu, “Silvio Berlusconi and George Becali, two clubs presidents in politics: Soccer and right populism in Italy and Romania”

12h Brasilia / 17h Brussels: Questions and discussions

September 16

08h Brasilia / 13h Brussels
“Roundtable 3: Football, Politics and Nationalism”
President: Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui
– Rahul Kumar, “The perfect model of a populist movement. The rise and fall of a Club President”
– José Paulo Florenzano, “The revolutionary management of Democracia Corinthiana”
– Piotr Siuda, Radosław Kossakowski, Michał Jasny and Józef Piłsudski, “Poland Struggling for fans’ approval: exploring clubs’ presidents and fandoms conflict in Poland – a case study of Zawisza Bydgoszcz”
– Daghan Irak, “All the president’s men: Crony-capitalism and sport presidency in Turkey”
– Massimiliano Maidano, “The presidents of the Siroki Brijeg: Croatian Nationalism”
– Xavier Ginesta, Jordi Badia, “FC Barcelona: Cultural, Political and Sportive legacies of President Josep Suñol i Garriga”
– Sean Jacobs, “The African Football President: the rise of Patrice Motsepe”

9h45 Brasilia / 14h45 Brussels: Questions and discussions

10h15 Brasilia / 15h15 Brussels: Coffee Break

10h30 Brasilia / 15h30 Brussels
“Roundtable 4: Commodification and Professionalism – Historical Perspectives”
President: Jean-Michel De Waele
– Luciano Segreto, Francesco Maccelli, “Towards an economic and political taxonomy of Italian Football Presidents (1960–2000)”
– Markwart Herzog, “On the Spirit of Capitalism in Football: Dr. David Rothschild – President of FSV Frankfurt, 1925–28”
– Gregory Quin, André Marche, Gianluca Sorrentino, “From locally rooted “philanthropists” to more distant business oriented presidents. The changing sociological background of the presidents of the major Swiss football clubs (1980–2020)”
– Christian Brandt, “‘I myself am the club ‘ – Patrons in German lower league football”
– Phillipe Vonnard, “Between philanthropical and political goals? The profile of the first presidents of the Association Suisse de football (1895–1933)”
– Dries Vanysacker, “Biographies and memories on Football Presidents: Networks in Football Club Brugeois (1891–2020)”

12h Brasilia / 17h Brussels: Questions and discussions

12h30 Brasilia / 17h30 Brussels
Conclusions by Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui and Jean-Michel De Waele

Registration required by mail to [email protected]

Jean-Michel De Waele
Professeur de Science politique
CEVIPOL
Université Libre de Bruxelles
Tel: 00.32.650.44.81
Avenue Jeanne 44, 1050 Bruxelles, Belgique
[email protected]

Kontakt

Jean-Michel De Waele
Professeur de Science politique
CEVIPOL
Université Libre de Bruxelles
Tel: 00.32.650.44.81
Avenue Jeanne 44, 1050 Bruxelles, Belgique
jean-michel.de.waele@ulb.be

Veja também:
    Notice: Undefined variable: post_id in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/storefront-child/inc/related_posts.php on line 17 Notice: Undefined variable: post_id in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/storefront-child/inc/related_posts.php on line 51
    • 25 de setembro de 2022

      Chamada para seleção de bolsista para pesquisa sobre esportes nos anos 1980

      • 23 de setembro de 2022

        Minicurso UERJ – Pela lateral do campo: Práticas e desvios do futebol na primeira metade do século XX

        • 20 de setembro de 2022

          Primavera dos Museus – Exibição do doc “Gondwana”